Capture Your Grief Project 2016

Day 3- What it Felt LikeThis post was so hard to write. I have thought about it and struggled with it all day and finally came to the conclusion that no matter what I say, no one can know what it feels like. Even other bereaved parents can’t totally understand one another’s emotions because each of us has our own unique grief experience. The best way I can describe it is that it felt dark and scary and like everything was closing in on me. It felt like there was only the tiniest point of light visible and I thought surely I would never feel moments of joy again. Child loss is insanely hard to explain and I fear if I was ever too honest with the non-bereaved, it would scare people. This journey isn’t fun and it certainly isn’t pretty. The ugly cry moments come when you are alone with it.

Leave a Reply

